Quick Picks
1
Most Published License and Pricing Disclosure
Brookdale St. Augustine
Publishes a Florida AHCA assisted living license number and specific starting prices for both assisted living and memory care, the most complete published picture in this market.
2
Most Specific Published Staffing Schedule
Coral Landing Assisted Living Residences
Names an LPN nurse on duty Monday through Friday plus 24/7 on-call coverage, a more specific staffing claim than a general 24-hour statement, alongside a published AHCA license number.
3
Clearest Published Starting Price For Both Care Levels
The Addison of St. Johns
States starting prices for both assisted living and memory care, $4,535 and $4,200 a month, more plainly than any other community in this set, even though it does not publish a license number.
Market Overview
What St. Augustine Families Can Actually Verify Before a Tour
Florida's Agency for Health Care Administration licenses senior care under one main license type that gets marketed under several different names. An Assisted Living Facility, or ALF, license covers independent-style and assisted living care, and a facility can add one or more specialty designations on top of it: Extended Congregate Care, Limited Nursing Services, or Limited Mental Health. Memory care works differently. Today, a Florida ALF that advertises Alzheimer's or dementia care does not need a separate memory care license. It needs to meet disclosure and staff training rules written into state law, under Florida Statute 429.178, on top of whatever license it already holds. That is changing. Governor DeSantis signed Senate Bill 1404 into law on May 22, 2026, creating an actual Memory Care Services specialty license for the first time. AHCA has until June 1, 2027 to write the rules, and existing communities will then get six months to obtain the new license. Until that rule is final, a St. Augustine community can brand a locked memory care wing however it likes without holding a distinct memory care license for it. St. Augustine is a smaller market than Tampa or Atlanta, with fewer communities to compare, but the same disclosure gaps show up here too. Of the six communities reviewed, three publish an actual AHCA assisted living license number on their own site, two publish starting prices by care level, and none publish an exact staff-to-resident ratio, though several describe a staffing schedule or around-the-clock coverage claim instead. A separate pattern shows up in this market more than in Tampa or Atlanta. Three of the six communities reviewed here now operate under a different name than the building used a few years ago, after a sale or a management change. The Barclay at St. Augustine, The Addison of St. Johns, and Westminster St. Augustine are the three. None of their current sites mention the earlier name.
Provider Profiles
1
Best For: Families who want a published Florida AHCA license number alongside specific starting prices for both assisted living and memory care
150 Mariner Health Way, St. Augustine, FL 32086
Founded Not stated on the community's own site
States specific starting rates by care level rather than requiring a contact form; private and semi-private room pricing both named
Assisted Living
Memory Care
The most complete published picture in this market, pairing a license number with named starting prices for both of its care levels. Memory care runs through Brookdale's branded Clare Bridge program.
Strengths
- Publishes a Florida AHCA assisted living license number Listed as AL9908.
- States starting prices for both care levels Assisted living starting at $4,540 a month, memory care starting at $8,965 a month, as of this review.
- Names a branded memory care program Clare Bridge, Brookdale's company-wide memory care program.
Watchouts
- No staff-to-resident ratio published 24/7 staff availability is described qualitatively, not as a number.
- No founding or opening year published for this specific community
2
Coral Landing Assisted Living Residences
Best For: Families who want a published Florida AHCA license number plus a named weekday nursing schedule rather than a vague staffing claim
2820 Old Moultrie Rd, St. Augustine, FL 32086
Founded Not stated on the community's own site
Not published; pricing requires a call or tour
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Publishes the most specific staffing schedule in this market, naming an LPN on duty Monday through Friday with 24/7 on-call nursing coverage, rather than just a general 24-hour staffing claim. Does not publish pricing on its own site.
Strengths
- Publishes a Florida AHCA assisted living license number Listed as AL7153.
- Names a specific weekday nursing schedule LPN nurse on duty Monday through Friday, with a nurse on call 24/7.
- States three daily home-cooked meals plus snacks A specific, checkable dining commitment rather than a vague amenity claim.
Watchouts
- No pricing published on the community's own site Rates require a phone call or tour.
- No staff-to-resident ratio published Nursing schedule is named, but not a ratio of staff to residents.
- No founding or opening year published
3
The Barclay at St. Augustine
Best For: Families who want a published Florida AHCA license number at a community that is listed under more than one name across directories
165 Silver Ln, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Founded Not stated on the community's own site
Not published; pricing requires a call or tour
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Publishes a license number but no staffing or pricing detail. This address is still listed under an earlier name, Silver Creek at St. Augustine, on several senior living directories, so families cross-checking reviews or inspection history should search both names.
Strengths
- Publishes a Florida AHCA assisted living license number Listed as #12928 on QSL Management's own site.
- Names both care levels clearly Assisted living and memory care.
Watchouts
- No staff-to-resident ratio or staffing commitment published
- No pricing published on the community's own site
- No founding or opening year published
- Listed under a different name, Silver Creek at St. Augustine, on multiple third-party directories Families researching reviews or inspection history should check both names at this address.
4
Silver Treasures at St. Augustine
Best For: Families who want a named round-the-clock nursing claim and on-site clinical services rather than a general amenities list
3552 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Founded Not stated on the community's own site
Not published; pricing requires a call or tour
Independent Living
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Names on-site rehabilitation therapy, mobile X-ray, and lab services alongside its 24-hour on-call nursing claim, more clinical specificity than most communities in this set, even without a published license number or price.
Strengths
- States nurses are on call 24 hours a day
- Names on-site clinical services Rehabilitation therapy, mobile X-ray, and lab services.
- Names all three care levels clearly Independent living, assisted living, and memory care.
Watchouts
- No Florida AHCA license number published on the community's own site
- No pricing published
- No founding or opening year published
5
Best For: Families who want published starting prices for both assisted living and memory care and want to know about a recent ownership change
115 Benton Lane, St. Augustine, FL 32092
Founded Not stated on the community's own site. The Jacksonville Daily Record reported Sonida Senior Living purchased this community for $12.28 million in a sale that closed September 30, 2024. The community operated as Benton House of St. Johns before that sale and was rebranded The Addison of St. Johns afterward.
States starting rates for both care levels rather than requiring a contact form
Assisted Living
Memory Care
Respite Care
Publishes starting prices for both of its care levels and names a branded memory care program, Magnolia Trails. Its recent ownership change is public record through local business reporting rather than anything stated on the community's current site, which does not mention its prior name, Benton House of St. Johns.
Strengths
- States starting prices for both care levels Assisted living starting at $4,535 a month, memory care starting at $4,200 a month, as of this review.
- Names a branded memory care program Magnolia Trails.
- Ownership history is publicly documented Jacksonville Daily Record reported the $12.28 million Sonida Senior Living purchase that closed September 30, 2024.
Watchouts
- No Florida AHCA license number published on the community's own site
- No staff-to-resident ratio published
- Recent ownership change Purchased by Sonida Senior Living in 2024 and rebranded from Benton House of St. Johns; the community's current site does not mention the prior name or the sale.
6
Westminster St. Augustine
Best For: Families who want the widest range of care levels on one World Golf Village campus and are prepared to verify license and pricing directly
235 Towerview Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32092
Founded Opened in June 2001 as Glenmoor, a sister community to Vicar's Landing in Ponte Vedra Beach. Cushman & Wakefield brokered a $27.5 million sale, and Westminster Communities of Florida acquired and renamed the property Westminster St. Augustine in 2017, according to the Jacksonville Daily Record and the Ponte Vedra Recorder.
Not published on the community's own site; the site directs inquiries to request floor plans and pricing
Independent Living
Assisted Living
Memory Support
Skilled Nursing
Rehabilitation
Names the widest range of care levels in this St. Augustine set, spanning independent living through skilled nursing and rehabilitation on one campus. It states it is part of Westminster Communities of Florida, a nonprofit life plan community system. The campus opened in 2001 as Glenmoor and was sold and renamed in 2017. The community's current site highlights its Life Plan Community status and a Governor's Gold Seal Award rather than its Glenmoor-era history.
Strengths
- Names the widest range of care levels in this set Independent living, assisted living, memory support, skilled nursing, and rehabilitation.
- States a Governor's Gold Seal Award for Excellence in Long-Term Care Stated on the community's own site.
- Nonprofit CCRC with a documented multi-decade operating history Opened in 2001 as Glenmoor; sold for $27.5 million and renamed in 2017, per local business reporting.
Watchouts
- No Florida AHCA license number published on the community's own site
- No staffing ratio or nurse-coverage commitment published
- No pricing published on the community's own site
- Recent ownership change The current nonprofit management company took over in 2017; the community's own site does not mention its prior name, Glenmoor, or the sale.
Buyer Checklist
- Ask whether the community's Florida license is a Standard ALF license or carries an added specialty designation Extended Congregate Care, Limited Nursing Services, and Limited Mental Health are separate add-on designations with different care ceilings. A Standard license alone does not cover all of them.
- Look up the license and inspection history yourself before you tour FloridaHealthFinder is AHCA's free public tool for license status, complaint history, and inspection reports by facility name, city, or zip code.
- Ask whether memory care is covered by a separate license yet As of this review, Florida does not require a separate memory care license. A new Memory Care Services specialty license becomes mandatory only after AHCA finalizes rules, due by June 1, 2027, with a six-month window after that for existing communities to comply.
- Ask for the all-in monthly number at the resident's actual care level, not the advertised starting rate Brookdale St. Augustine publishes starting rates for both assisted living and memory care; neither figure includes care-level add-ons that typically raise the final price.
- Ask for a specific staff-to-resident ratio, not just a coverage schedule Coral Landing publishes an LPN weekday schedule with 24/7 on-call coverage, which is more specific than a general staffing claim but still not a ratio of staff to residents.
- If a community recently changed its name or owner, ask what changed Half the communities reviewed in this St. Augustine comparison now operate under a different name than they did a few years ago. A new name can mean new ownership and a new operating history that is separate from the building's reputation.
- Search a community's address under its current name and any earlier name before trusting a review score The Barclay at St. Augustine is still listed as Silver Creek at St. Augustine on several directories, The Addison of St. Johns was Benton House of St. Johns until a 2024 sale, and Westminster St. Augustine was Glenmoor until a 2017 sale. Reviews and inspection history tied to the old name may not reflect who runs the community today.
FAQ
Does Florida license memory care separately from assisted living?
Not yet. Today, a Florida assisted living facility that advertises Alzheimer's or dementia care has to follow disclosure and staff training rules under Florida Statute 429.178, but it does not need a distinct memory care license. Governor DeSantis signed Senate Bill 1404 on May 22, 2026, creating a real Memory Care Services specialty license, but AHCA has until June 1, 2027 to write the rules, and existing communities get six months after that to obtain it.
How can I check a St. Augustine senior living community's Florida license and inspection history myself?
The Florida Agency for Health Care Administration runs FloridaHealthFinder, a free public search tool at quality.healthfinder.fl.gov, for license status and facility comparisons. For the actual inspection reports and statements of deficiencies, AHCA's document system at apps.ahca.myflorida.com/dm_web lets you search by facility name or file number.
Is St. Augustine senior living pricing all-inclusive or base rate plus add-ons?
Brookdale St. Augustine publishes starting rates by care level rather than one all-inclusive figure, which is the base-rate pattern families should expect to see expand once an actual care assessment is done. Most other communities reviewed in this market do not publish a price at all.
Does St. Augustine Beach, Vilano Beach, or World Golf Village count as part of this market?
Yes. This comparison treats St. Augustine's close coastal and inland neighbors, including St. Augustine Beach, Vilano Beach, and World Golf Village, as part of the same service area, since families searching for St. Augustine senior living typically consider all of them. Jacksonville-proper communities are treated as a separate market on this site.
Why do three of the six St. Augustine communities in this comparison have more than one name?
Because St. Augustine's senior living market has seen real turnover in ownership and management in recent years, and none of the current sites mention the earlier name. The Barclay at St. Augustine, at 165 Silver Ln, is still listed as Silver Creek at St. Augustine on several senior living directories. The Addison of St. Johns operated as Benton House of St. Johns until Sonida Senior Living purchased it for $12.28 million in a sale that closed September 30, 2024, according to the Jacksonville Daily Record. Westminster St. Augustine opened in 2001 as Glenmoor and was sold for $27.5 million and renamed when Westminster Communities of Florida acquired it in 2017, according to the Jacksonville Daily Record and the Ponte Vedra Recorder. A rebrand does not tell a family whether care improved or declined. It just means the building's older reviews and inspection history belong to a different company than the one running it today.
How is this list ordered?
By how much each community publishes about Florida AHCA license status, staffing, and pricing structure, the same three disclosure factors the Senior Living Communities category tracks in every city. It is not a ranking of care quality. A community lower on this list may provide excellent care; it has simply published less that a family can verify before the first call.
Methodology: Six senior living communities serving St. Augustine, Florida, including its World Golf Village submarket, were reviewed on 2026-10-22. Every fact on this page is taken from the community's own public pages or a named public source, such as local business reporting in the Jacksonville Daily Record and the Ponte Vedra Recorder, the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration's FloridaHealthFinder and apps.ahca.myflorida.com inspection database, Florida Statute 429.178, and Senate Bill 1404 (Chapter 2026-102), and nothing is inferred. A staffing figure or license number that appeared only on a third-party senior living directory, and could not be traced back to a community's own site or a named public record, was treated as unverified and left out, including a third-party-only license number found for Westminster St. Augustine. St. Augustine is a smaller market than Tampa or Atlanta; communities outside a reasonable St. Augustine service area, including Jacksonville-proper and Ponte Vedra Beach addresses, were excluded. Communities are ordered by published disclosure across three factors, weighted toward license status first since that is the detail that most directly protects a resident, then staffing, then pricing structure. This ordering measures transparency, not care quality, and is not an endorsement or a clinical recommendation. Communities that publish additional detail will move in future revisions.