Local Business Comparison

Child Care Centers in Nashville, TN

Nine child care centers serving Nashville, ordered by how much each one publishes about license status, ratio, accreditation and tuition structure. Every entry is sourced from the center's own public pages.

Updated 2026-10-07 9 ranked businesses

Quick Picks

1
Most Published License and Accreditation Detail

Unique Kids Childcare

The only center in this set whose own site states Tennessee's 3-Star rating, NAEYC accreditation, and a ratio commitment on the same page, even though the ratio statement has no number attached.

2
Most Published Tuition Detail

Westminster School for Young Children

The only center reviewed here that posts exact dollar tuition figures by days-per-week on its own site instead of asking a parent to call or tour first.

3
Longest Published Operating History

McNeilly Center for Children

States it has provided child care in Nashville since 1916, and publishes its 3-Star licensed status and sliding-scale fee structure on the same enrollment page.

Market Overview

What Nashville Parents Can Actually Verify Before a Tour

Nashville has a deep child care market, but very little of it is comparable from the outside. Of the nine centers reviewed here, five state a Tennessee Star Rating or explicit license status on their own site, and six name a real accreditation body. Not one publishes an actual child-to-staff ratio number for any age group, and only two describe a real tuition structure rather than asking a parent to call. That gap, not the warmth of the classrooms, is what makes Nashville child care comparison slow. This page sorts centers by what they put in public, so a parent can see who has already answered the two questions that actually decide safety: is this center licensed and in good standing, and what ratio does it actually run.

Provider Profiles

1
Unique Kids Childcare
Best For: Parents who want a center that states both its state rating and its national accreditation up front
1828 Old Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217 Founded 2020
Infants (6 weeks to 15 months) Toddlers (15 to 24 months) Preschool (2 to 3 years) Pre-K (3 to 5 years)
The only center in this set whose own site touches all four disclosure points this page tracks: license rating, a ratio statement, accreditation and age-group detail. The ratio statement itself, though, carries no number.
Strengths
  • States Tennessee's 3-Star rating, the state's highest, directly on its own site
  • States NAEYC accreditation directly on its own site
  • Publishes a ratio commitment Site states class sizes stay at or below the state-required ratio, though it does not give the number.
  • Founded in 2020 under a named owner-director Owner Dominique Gill holds a Child Development Associate credential.
Watchouts
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published for any age group
  • No posted tuition rate Site references cost-reduction options rather than a dollar figure.
2
McNeilly Center for Children
Best For: Families who want a long-operating nonprofit with income-based fees rather than a flat rate
100 Meridian Street, Nashville, TN 37207 Founded 1916
Infants Toddlers Preschool School age (ages 6 weeks through 5 years accepted)
Operating in Nashville since 1916 and the only nonprofit reviewed here. Its own site states license and star status plainly and discloses a real income-based fee structure, but does not confirm the NAEYC accreditation that outside directories attribute to it.
Strengths
  • States '3 STAR (highest possible) program' and State of Tennessee licensure directly on its own enrollment page
  • Discloses a real tuition structure Sliding-scale fees based on income, with a stated $25 application fee and $75 enrollment fee.
  • Operating in Nashville since 1916 The longest stated history of any center in this set.
Watchouts
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • NAEYC accreditation claimed by outside directories is not stated anywhere on the center's own site found during this review
  • No physical tuition dollar amount published Sliding scale means the rate depends on income documentation, not a posted number.
3
The Gardner School of Midtown
Best For: Parents who want a nationally accredited, academically focused center near Midtown
1811 State Street, Nashville, TN 37203 Founded 2011
Infants (from 6 weeks) Toddlers Twos Preschool Pre-K Private Kindergarten
States both its Tennessee star rating and its NAEYC accreditation on the same page, the same combination that puts Unique Kids and McNeilly near the top, but adds nothing about ratio or tuition.
Strengths
  • States '3 stars from Tennessee's Star-Quality Child Care Program' directly on its own site
  • States national NAEYC accreditation directly on its own site
  • Opened in November 2011, a published founding date
Watchouts
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • No posted tuition rate; site asks parents to call or tour
4
Cheekwood Child Development Center
Best For: Families near Belle Meade who want a long-running, independently owned center
112 Cheekwood Terrace, Nashville, TN 37205 Founded 1994
Infants (from 6 weeks) Toddlers Preschool Pre-K (ages 4 to 5)
Clearly states its Davidson County license and 3-Star status, which is real disclosure. The accreditation line is weaker than it first reads: the site states NAEYC membership for staff, not a NAEYC program accreditation, and the two are not the same claim.
Strengths
  • States Davidson County DHS license and '3 Star Center' status directly on its own homepage
  • Founded July 1, 1994, a published founding date
  • Preschool and Pre-K lead instructors hold bachelor's degrees or higher in early childhood education, per the center's own programs page
Watchouts
  • States staff NAEYC membership, not a NAEYC program accreditation A parent reading quickly could mistake this for the accreditation some sibling centers in this set actually hold.
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • No posted tuition rate
5
Westminster School for Young Children
Best For: Parents who want to see an exact tuition number before they ever call
3900 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37205 Founded 1946
Ages 1 to 5 years
The only center in this set that posts real tuition numbers instead of a call-to-tour prompt, and it traces back to Nashville's first Protestant kindergarten, opened in 1946 at Westminster Presbyterian Church. It does not state a current Tennessee license or star status anywhere found on its own site.
Strengths
  • Posts 2026-2027 tuition for 2 days per week (Tuesday/Thursday) $5,065
  • Posts 2026-2027 tuition for 3 days per week (Monday/Wednesday/Friday) $6,974
  • Posts 2026-2027 tuition for 4 days per week (Monday through Thursday) $9,294
  • Posts 2026-2027 tuition for 5 days per week (Monday through Friday) $11,817
  • Displays NAEYC accreditation directly on its own site
  • Traces to Nashville's first Protestant kindergarten, opened in 1946
Watchouts
  • No Tennessee license status or star rating found stated on the center's own site
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
6
Hickory KinderCare
Best For: Parents who want a national chain with a stated accreditation and general license language
497 Old Hickory Blvd, Nashville, TN 37209 Founded Not published
Infant Discovery Preschool Preschool Prekindergarten Toddler Daycare
States a real NAEYC accreditation for this specific location, which is more than several independents in this set manage, but its license statement is boilerplate chain language rather than a Nashville-specific star rating.
Strengths
  • States NAEYC accreditation for this specific center
  • States general state-licensed and inspected status
Watchouts
  • License language is generic corporate text, not a Nashville-specific star rating
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • No posted tuition rate; page collects contact details for a follow-up quote
  • No founding year published for this location
7
The Gardner School of Nashville
Best For: Families in the Donelson and Century City area wanting a NAEYC-accredited preschool
601 Marriott Drive, Nashville, TN 37214 Founded 2005
Infants (from 6 weeks) Toddlers Twos Preschool Pre-K Private Kindergarten
Shares the same NAEYC accreditation and franchise model as the Midtown location, but this page does not carry a star-rating statement the way the Midtown page does.
Strengths
  • States national NAEYC accreditation directly on its own site
  • Established in 2005, a published founding date
  • States all lead preschool teachers hold four-year degrees in early childhood education or a related field
Watchouts
  • No Tennessee star rating or license statement found on this location's own page
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • No posted tuition rate
8
Primrose School of Nashville Midtown
Best For: Parents comparing accreditation bodies beyond NAEYC
1915 Charlotte Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203 Founded Not published (a franchise staff bio references the school being open 'over 8 years')
Infant Toddler Early Preschool Preschool Pathways Preschool Pre-Kindergarten Kindergarten
The only center in this set naming SEA and Cognia rather than NAEYC, which matters to a parent comparing accreditation bodies rather than assuming NAEYC is the only one that exists. Everything else about licensing, ratio, and price is unpublished.
Strengths
  • Names Southern Early Childhood Association (SEA) accreditation
  • Names Cognia accreditation
Watchouts
  • No Tennessee star rating or license statement found on this location's own page
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • No posted tuition rate; page pushes toward a scheduled tour
  • No exact founding year published
9
La Petite Academy of Nashville
Best For: Parents who want the longest-running chain location in this set and are willing to verify the license number directly with the state
1842 Murfreesboro Pike, Nashville, TN 37217 Founded 1986
Infants (from 6 weeks) Toddlers Twos Early Preschool Preschool Pre-K
The longest published founding year of any chain location reviewed, but the only center whose published license number carries a state-abbreviation prefix inconsistent with Tennessee. A parent should confirm this center's current license directly through the state locator rather than relying on the number as printed.
Strengths
  • Founded in 1986, the longest stated history among the chain locations in this set
  • Publishes a license number on its own site Printed as 'VA5114A.' The prefix does not match Tennessee and should be confirmed with the state rather than taken at face value.
Watchouts
  • Published license number carries a non-Tennessee prefix Worth confirming directly through the state's Child Care Locator Map before enrolling.
  • No NAEYC or other accreditation published
  • No numeric child-to-staff ratio published
  • No posted tuition rate

Buyer Checklist

  • Look up the center yourself on Tennessee's Child Care Locator Map before you call The state tool, linked from tn.gov/humanservices, shows current license status and star rating for every licensed agency; do not rely only on what a center's own site claims.
  • Ask for the actual child-to-staff ratio by your child's age group None of the nine centers reviewed for this page published a numeric ratio. A vague statement like 'at or below the state ratio' is not the same as a number.
  • Confirm whether 'NAEYC' means accreditation or membership One center in this set states NAEYC membership for its staff, which is not the same claim as a NAEYC program accreditation that other centers in this set hold.
  • Ask whether the posted or quoted tuition is a flat rate or a sliding scale Only two centers in this set disclose a real tuition structure; one posts exact dollar figures and one uses income-based sliding-scale fees.
  • If a license number is printed on the site, check that its format matches Tennessee One center in this set prints a license number with a prefix that does not match Tennessee's abbreviation.
  • Check the current Tennessee Star Rating date, not just the star count Star Quality status is reviewed on a schedule; a center's own site may not reflect its most recent evaluation.
  • Verify the center still appears in the map pack for its actual neighborhood A center can be well run and still be hard to find for the exact search a parent runs.

FAQ

Do Nashville child care centers publish their child-to-staff ratio?
Not in this set. None of the nine Nashville centers reviewed for this page published a numeric child-to-staff ratio for any age group on their own site. One center states that its class sizes stay at or below the state-required ratio without giving the number. A parent who wants the actual ratio has to ask for it directly.
What does a Tennessee Star Rating actually mean?
Tennessee's Star-Quality Child Care Program rates licensed centers from zero to three stars. One star means the center exceeds the state's minimum licensing requirements, and three stars is the highest standard the state recognizes. A center with zero or one star can still hold a valid license in good standing; the star count measures quality above the legal minimum, not whether the license itself is valid.
How can a Nashville parent check a center's license status directly?
Tennessee's Department of Human Services runs a Child Care Locator Map that lets a parent search licensed centers and homes by address, name, or county and see current license and star information. It is reachable from tn.gov/humanservices/for-families/child-care-services/find-child-care.html and is a faster check than relying only on a center's own marketing page.
Is NAEYC accreditation the same as being a NAEYC member?
No. NAEYC accreditation is a program review a center has to earn and maintain against national standards. NAEYC membership is open to individual staff and does not require the center itself to pass that review. One center in this Nashville set states staff membership in NAEYC on its site rather than a program accreditation, and the two claims should not be read as interchangeable.
Which Nashville centers post actual tuition numbers instead of asking a parent to call?
Two of the nine reviewed here. Westminster School for Young Children posts exact dollar tuition figures by days-per-week for the current school year. McNeilly Center for Children uses an income-based sliding scale and publishes its application and enrollment fee amounts. The remaining seven direct parents to call or schedule a tour for pricing.
How is this list ordered?
By how much each center publishes in public about Tennessee license status, child-to-staff ratio, accreditation, and tuition structure. It is not a ranking of curriculum quality or child safety outcomes. A center that discloses more sorts higher because a parent can verify more before making contact.
Methodology: Nine child care centers serving Nashville were reviewed on 2026-10-07. Tennessee licensing terminology and the public Child Care Locator Map were verified directly from the Tennessee Department of Human Services child care services pages at tn.gov/humanservices, not from a downloaded licensing database file. Every fact about an individual center is taken from that center's own public pages, with third-party claims that could not be confirmed on the center's own site marked as such rather than treated as verified. Providers are ordered by published disclosure across four factors: state license or star status, child-to-staff ratio, named accreditation, and tuition structure. This ordering measures transparency, not curriculum quality or child safety outcomes, and is not a safety endorsement of any center. Centers who publish additional detail will move in future revisions.